Tuesday, June 21, 2011

ADMT Include File

Based on a few emails received on this topic, I thought I would create a separate blog about the ADMT Include file.

What is an Include file? 

An include file is a text file in which you list the user, group, and computer objects that you want to migrate, with each object on a separate line.  Instead of manually selecting the objects, you can specify these objects details in a text file.  Include file is useful when  performing a “merge” operation.  I have explained this procedure in the following blog:

User Account Migration and Merging – Part I (ADMT) - http://portal.sivarajan.com/2011/05/user-account-migration-and-merging-part.html

You can use any of the following fields in the Include file format.  Make you have the proper header in the include file. 

  1. SourceName,TargetRDN
  2. SourceName,TargetRDN,TargetSAM
  3. SourceName,TargetRDN,TargetSAM,TargetUPN

Here is an example of an ADMT Include file.

image

Other Related Articles:

Active Directory Migration Using ADMT - http://www.sivarajan.com/admt.html

Computer Migration - Things to Consider - http://www.sivarajan.com/cm.html

User Account Migration and Merging Using ADMT - http://www.sivarajan.com/

2 comments:

Hi Santosh,

I have a query here, I have successfully migrated users and trying to migrate profile using security translation. during the wizard i have selected Local profiles, registry, user permission to migrate and security translation "replace"

1. The moment I select "replace" I click NEXT a pop comes said this is will in ADD mode only (What should i stop this pop)

2. by keeping ADD mode profiles are migrating successful and user are able to login to target domain and getting old profiles mapped to old SID's (Files server share is getting mapped with map drive and able to see all files and folder but my problem here users are not able to change any files. Saving the files after change is giving "Access Denied)

can you help me where i am doing mistake...

Thanks in Advance.
Rajnish

What do you mean by "old profiles mapped to old SID's". Where do you see this old SID?

Access Denied - Are you using built-in groups for the file permission?

Post a Comment

Popular Posts

Share

Twitter Delicious Facebook Digg Stumbleupon Favorites More